Editor’s Note/Updates

For anyone interested, some updates on the status of Artvironmentalist:

Things are going to be changing. A bit.

I started this blog in 2013 with the intention of exploring art that either directly addresses topics in the Anthropocene or art that acts as a form of activism. I wanted to use the blog as a journalistic tool to spark conversations about climate change, and to instigate action in a time where action is desperately needed. It was my own form of activism; as an introvert that still wanted to do something important, it seemed to me to be a fitting way to push along the climate conversation from the comfort of my desk.

The last few years, however, have seen others achieve similar goals to much greater effect. This is by no means self-deprecation; recently, major publications with international reach have helped environmental journalism evolve into direct environmental action. The Guardian’s Keep It In The Ground campaign (see former editor-in-chief Alan Rusbridger’s full explanation here) is the most admirable one that I’ve been following, and I encourage anyone reading this to do likewise.

That’s not to say that this blog is going to disappear (even though the last few months have been a little…sparse). On the contrary, as a soon-to-be graduate student in Curatorial Practice at the School of Visual Arts, I will be pushing myself to post as much as or more than I have in the past. But, in light of the Guardian being awesome, my interest in theory, and the blog’s natural evolution, Artvironmentalist will be moreso addressing issues in critical theory, philosophy, and art that are useful in understanding our existence in the Anthropocene. In other words, I am going to be focusing the blog a bit more, with an emphasis on issues in social thought/philosophy.

To quote Claire Evans and McKenzie Wark, art and literature “can be read as a form of theory, a ‘realism of the possible,’ helping us think through the world as it is and as it may be.” Those readings are what I’ll be posting.

– Patrick Jaojoco

Cover image credit: NASA/Joel Kowsky

Leave a Reply

